World Scouting awards are designed to recognize and appreciate the incredible contributions of Scouts towards creating a better world. These awards recognize Scouts’ impact, efforts, creativity, innovation and ability to inspire others along the way.
Awards like the Messengers of Peace Hero Award and Scouts of the World Award highlight the impacts Scouts are making while contributing to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Recognition helps keep the passion burning, the motivation flowing and the inspiration going!
Check out WOSM's awards below and learn how Scouts can earn them.

Scouts of the World Award

Scouts of the World Award

What is the Scouts of the World Award? 

In 2004, after many years of partnership, the World Organization of the Scout Movement (WOSM) and the UN signed an agreement stating that WOSM would actively participate in the campaign for the Millennium Development Goals, the predecessor of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). As a result, the Scouts of the World Award was created and continues to this day.
The Scouts of the World Award is an educational program that challenges young people to reflect on global issues and take action. Participants are required to complete a sustainable community project focusing on one or more of the three main fields of action:
  • Development: This involves bringing about positive sustainable change, growth or improvement to communities over time.
  • Peace: This refers to harmony and non-violence, characterized by the absence of war or conflict, alongside proactive efforts to foster understanding, combat prejudices, mediate conflicts, promote intercultural understanding, and encourage dialogue.
  • Environment: This encompasses the natural world, including land, water, air, plants, and animals, and in particular how human activity affects the environment.

Who is eligible for the Scouts of the World Award? 

The Scouts of the World Award is designed for Scouts and all young people between the ages of 15 and 26.

How can young people earn the Scouts of the World Award?

To earn the Scouts of the World Award, a young person must complete a journey of three stages:
  1. Discovery: Participants start by exploring issues in their communities and then respond by analyzing what they’ve been through in the exploration phase, reflecting on the causes and consequences, and crafting a project plan.

    Duration: minimum 21 working hours
  2. Volunteering: Participants put their solutions into action through voluntary service.

    Duration: minimum 80 working hours
  3. Network: After completing the first two stages, participants become a part of the Scouts of the World Award global network. They receive their award once they have completed all required reporting to WOSM. 
National Scout Organizations can learn how to implement the Scouts of the World Award by consulting the NSO Implementation Manual and requesting help via our Service Platform.
Adult Leaders and young people can learn more about how to earn the Scouts of the World Award by consulting the Programme Guidelines.

The Messengers of Peace Heroes Award

Messengers of Peace Heroes awards

What is the Messengers of Peace Heroes Award? 

In 2012, the Messengers of Peace Heroes award was created to celebrate remarkable Scout volunteers who are creating a better world. This esteemed award recognises the extraordinary efforts of young people, acknowledging their invaluable contributions to improving their communities, fostering dialogue and harmony, and providing aid during times of crisis.
With each passing year, the Messengers of Peace Heroes receive well-deserved recognition during a ceremony and continue their work igniting inspiration towards community service and impact among young people around the world. The Messengers of Peace community is meant to leave a lasting, positive and sustainable imprint on society.

Who is eligible to become a Messengers of Peace Hero? 

This award is for young people between the ages of 11 and 26 who are making significant contributions to local communities through community service actions. These activities must include direct contributions to the achievement of one or more of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals at the local or national level. 
Nominees must have carried out community actions which tackle problems in the following areas: 
  • Environment and Sustainability: Tackling climate change, promoting sustainable habits towards eco-friendly and healthy lifestyles, connecting with nature and protecting, or working towards greater sustainability
  • Health and Well-being: Improving resilience in young people for their physical, emotional and social well-being
  • Peace and Community Engagement: Helping make communities more resilient and improving sustainable development through youth participation in decision-making processes and conflict resolution
  • Life Skills: Supporting the development of people's competencies in different life skills such as literacy, STEAM, interpersonal skills, leadership, entrepreneurship and more

How can young people become Messengers of Peace Heroes?

Keep an eye on our channels for our annual open call for nominations! Young people who have carried out projects inspired by local needs, whether as individuals or in teams, can be nominated for the award.
To qualify for nomination, the individual or team leader must:
  • Meet the eligibility criteria
  • Have carried out a community service service project within 24 months prior to the open call
  • The project must be a contribution towards sustainable development, helping strengthen and promote Scouting’s purpose while benefitting the community through peacebuilding, environmental action, promotion of health and well-being or skills development.
  • Have a complete nomination form and supporting documentation submitted by the nominator
NOTE: There are no self-nominations for the Messengers of Peace Hero award.
World Scouting’s panel reviews all nominations based on the diversity of regions and projects, as well as specific criteria set out each year.